Flawed Character

Orange and gold leaves blanket the neighborhood streets. My friends are off buggy-ing in Utah and I’m jealous. I love that machine! The weather came back to beautiful Indian summer, warm days and cool nights that are allowing me to put the yard and garden to bed. All that is left now is pulling out the squash plant and dead heading the roses once they are done.

I plugged in the roof heat tape on the north side of my entry portico, and while up there debated the merits of Christmas lights. I decided against worrying about them, or putting them up. As I’ve driven the neighborhoods in the past, it seems to me, either go big or don’t go at all. In tubs in the basement are enough lights to go big, but I don’t seem to have the desire at the moment to put them up. I’ll put up my lighted wreaths and candles in the windows as usual, but leave the rest for one of two things: someone to show up and help me do it, or a sudden attack of inspiration. I’m not counting on either.

So, I’ve had this nagging little thing, and it turns out it is a hernia. It requires surgery but nothing immediate. “Take your time to figure out when works best for you,” the doctor said, “because you can’t lift for six weeks after the procedure.” Well, if you have young grandkids, you know there is no such thing as a ‘works best’ time. Something is going to get screwed up with this surgery – besides my wallet.

My YA manuscript, “Rhyaden,” is in the hands of my developmental editor. Time to start in on “Compass Point” once again. I believe I have worked out the kinks to make the good guy and little more flawed, not exactly villainous, but you know, human and occasionally stupid like the rest of us.

IMG_2919

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

