Autumn Joy

I drove across the Rocky Mountains and was treated to the glory of Mother Nature’s Autumn. Starting in Utah on Hwy 6, all the way to the Vail Valley in Colorado, I saw the best of fall colors. A sea of shimmering gold leaves amid vibrant orange and brilliant red patches made it truly difficult to concentrate on driving.

I wanted to stop and photograph the splendid scenery, but I also wanted to get home. The rest of the week is full of appointments and obligations. None of my photographs were going to live up to the beauty I saw today, so I kept going. I’m glad that I got the opportunity to see it, though, as I haven’t had a chance to get up into the mountains this fall.

What I did do this past weekend was finish that infamous final battle scene. I am very pleased, but my developmental editor hasn’t seen it yet, so it remains to be seen whether or not the book is finished. Amazing what gets pointed out to me that, even though I wrote it – or left it out – I don’t see it until it’s pointed out to me.IMG_2812.jpg Still, I’m excited.

Another couple of short trips are planned for this month. In the meantime, my to-do list includes digging the carrots (they got their first freeze so should be sweet and ready), pulling out the tomato plants and putting the garden to rest, covering the patio furniture, and putting up Christmas lights. Really? Christmas lights? Who put that on the list?

My prayers go out to the people enduring the California fires. Having gone through one myself, I know how devastating and frightening fires are. The loss, the survivor guilt, and the new reality are all incredibly difficult to move past. The loss of life in these fires and the recent hurricanes heighten our awareness of what we can and cannot control. Tell your family that you love them today. Every day.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

