Shucks

The weather forecast says sun. Funny, I can’t see it through the fog. It got downright chilly in the night. I turned the furnace on finally. Which reminds me, I need to change the furnace filter. I knew there was something else on my to-do list. Oh well. When that sun does come out, I’m going to do a happy dance. I have a dentist appointment. I believe my reward should be sunshine.

The unimaginable shooting in Las Vegas is a subject that I find I can’t write about. I do pray for the victims and their families to overcome the loss, the shock and the terror and trauma to follow. I do wonder what could possibly be the motive behind such a heinous act. I do wonder if there will ever be an act so incredibly awful, people will understand the real gun control issue. Not the purported one put out by the lobbyists, but the real issue, money. No, I don’t suppose that will ever happen in my lifetime. Someday, maybe.

Tree colors are changing. Leaves are falling. My burning bushes are brilliant red. Oh, how I love that. Mums are in their glory. My favorite season, autumn, is upon us. I’ve even had a couple of mugs of hot chocolate (so far). If only the grey winter wasn’t looming on the heels of such vibrancy.

I get to see my grandsons soon. I can’t wait for some of their hugs.

The query letter is finally taking shape. What a struggle. I’m also ‘trying to begin’ writing the final battle scene of my YA novel. Not that I wanted to write a battle scene, mind you, but it needed one, so there I go, attempting to put together a scene that is worthy of the characters and a fitting end. Not easy to do when you are a ‘don’t like conflict’ kind of person. Shucks.IMG_2493

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

