Stuff Elves

A new purple bicycle. Such a fun purchase, not for me, for my granddaughter. She has outgrown her last one. You can tell when their knees come up past the handle bars! haha. We have been planning longer rides we can do together, and in the meantime, we are riding the neighborhood in the cool mornings and evenings. I look forward to the adventures coming our way.

The second truck finally showed up with the last of the kids furniture and household boxes. Yay. Now for the million dollar question. Where does it all go? Every year I sort out my unused stuff for our community wide yard sale, and every year there is more. Unbelievable. Either I’m getting better at letting stuff go, or “stuff elves” are busy making more in my closets.

The last of my school-age grandkids will start classes next week. Geesh. I just got the hang of summer. The family is planning a group picture. Not as easy as one would hope. Coordinating outfits? Nah. Coordinating colors? At least don’t clash! If all of us girls could go shopping together, it might be easier. There have been numerous texts and pictures sent back and forth. We’ll get it figured out, but I never imagined this. The guys have got to be laughing, at the very least rolling their eyes.

The yard has been a joy this summer. With the final flower beds and fire-pit completed, it is nice to sit and look out at it without feeling the need to work on something. Good thing too since I was gone so much. For my personality, that usually begs the question: what will be my next project? Hard to say. I’m looking around. However, travel is next on the agenda, as well as getting the completed book out there – and finishing the one in the works. Plenty to do, I’d say. Best to keep my eyes shut.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

