The Long Drive: Part Three

The Second Day of Driving didn’t go so well. Two hours in, a trailer tire blew. Fortunately, the kids were well prepared, with jack and spare close at hand. Unfortunately, we were on a fast paced highway, and the traffic whizzing by is scary. Smart phones then led us to a tire shop that did not have the tires we needed, (the man helping us was a little fuzzy), but a few miles away was another shop that did have the right size. Thank goodness.

We made it to our destination in Clarksville TN, but not in the early afternoon as we’d hoped, but rather at 6:PM, so all the visiting and swimming with family that we’d hoped to do was pretty much out the window. A good supper was followed by showers and bed. End of Day Two.

Day Three’s destination was the far side of Kansas City, a fair piece of driving, but it went without incident. After checking into our hotel, the kids went off to eat supper and I went to the swimming pool. I’d hit my limit of junk food, or really any kind of food at that point. After the swim, I showered and hung up my swimming suit to dry. Bedtime! Yay! No blips.

Somewhere around 10:30 pm the hotel fire alarm went off. That is the most incredibly loud, obnoxious sound possible combined with flashing lights. (I realize its purpose). I sprang up and it ceased, so I called down to the front desk. The nice attendant told me the alarm indicated something in the pump room, no problem, don’t worry. Well, huh. I grabbed my swim-suit (still wet), packed up all the toiletries, and “staged” my getaway.

Sure enough, fifteen minutes later the alarm goes off again. This time is doesn’t stop. I called the front desk. This time she sounds harried and said there is smoke in the lobby, evacuate. I called my son and we met in the hallway, went down the stairs, and out into the parking lot. I was astounded at how many small babies were in that hotel. Here came the fire trucks, and before too long, they had the smoke sucked out of the place and we were allowed back in. They said a fan had burned up in the pump room.

Now, back inside, do you think I could sleep? No way. Sometime after 1:30am I fell asleep, until 5:30 am when the fire alarm blared out once again. We packed up and left. Don’t ask. I have no idea.

Continued in Part Four.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

