Maintenance

I’m forever saying ‘taking care of a house is never ending.’ Today’s example came via my ears. I’m sitting at my desk, working away, and I hear this incredibly invasive noise right outside the office. I go out and see nothing. Back inside, again with the noise. Back outside, nothing. I step away and patiently wait. A tiny face peeks out at me from the edge of the gutter next to the house. A squirrel. Next I get out the hose, put it on jet and start squirting. While I’m at it, I see a wasp nest on the stone facing, so I take that down with the hose. Back in the house, ten minutes later, the chewing/clawing noise starts up again. Ladder time. Only it’s 95 degrees out. No wonder it wants in.

My next step is up the ladder, hose him down, beat on the roof and hopefully scare him away. I put wire over the area so he can’t get in again. The only problem with that is he is still inside, so I’ve effectively jailed the little critter. More clawing/chewing noises. Up the ladder again, remove the wire, beat on it, stick the end of a tool in there as far as it will go, beat the roof some more and hope he gets the message. An hour later, up the ladder and put the wire back on. So far, no noise. We’ll see. Anyone want to bet on it?

There is so much to do right now, and all I want to do is write. My neighbor told me to relax, quit stressing. Okay. I’m actually not stressed, I just want to be writing because I have all these little glitches and thoughts in the rewrites that need to be worked out. My creative juices are flowing and I suppose that it is like adrenalin, it wants out! (just like the squirrel) hmm, might be a story there.IMG_2278

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

