First Tomato

So much is happening with the family this summer. My son and his family are moving. My son-in-law is play testing a WWII game he designed. He also built a fence around their back yard. My grandson is learning to swim. My daughter and I are in the developmental editing phase of my YA novel. My other daughter and son-in-law are on a round of visiting, vacation, and ‘tough mudder’ competition. Whew! Keeping up is tough.

A big rain hit last night. Since we have been in the high 90s, it was a welcome relief. I saw the green sky that indicates hail, but we didn’t get any here. I hope no one’s wheat crop got taken out. If it rained out east like it did here, it will slow down harvest, that’s for sure.

I finally met the shop cat that my son inherited when he bought the place, a muted yellow tabby. He was hungry and came meowing when I fed him. I guess he decided I was better than nothing, so he finally made friends with me.

There are tasks I should be doing in the yard, but the heat during the day, and the mosquitoes in the early mornings and evenings have rather turned me off. I did get in one good bike ride this week. Otherwise, swim lessons for my grandson have dominated the outdoor time. The beauty of writing is my air conditioned office. I’m a little spoiled with that. We did pick the first tomato out of the garden. Yummy! I sense homemade salsa in the near future.

We are closing in on the finish of my YA novel. All the input from Beta readers is back, so after this final polish, it goes out for submission. The query letter is scarier to write than the book itself. I’m hoping to have it done before I fly across country to help the kids move. No promises on that one. Time is flying, and time with grandkids is pretty darn precious.IMG_2262

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

