Celebration!

Happy Fourth of July! I hope everyone has a happy, healthy, safe celebration of our countries founding. IMG_2226

My best laid plans have gone awry, but ask me if I care. Not one bit. Instead of writing, I got a ride in my son’s new airplane. Awesome! I flew the plane for about 15 seconds and survived my first barrel roll. Three rolls in all. Good thing I hadn’t eaten any breakfast before going up. We had a beautiful, clear morning. Seeing all the water and lakes and ponds and crop land from up there was outstanding. I can certainly see why a person gets addicted to flying. I am jazzed.

So the dramatic scene gets put off for another day. I have priorities that matter more. While all the books on writing that I’ve been reading strongly suggest you write x number of words every single day, no matter what, I think not – not when presented with an opportunity to spend time with my family and loved ones, or have a new adventure. Yes, I think not. The fort my granddaughter built this afternoon (with a little help from me) was worth far more than a thousand words.

A rain shower, followed by another shower came through and tried to put a damper on our hot dog cook out, but we persevered through it (my granddaughter held an umbrella over the fire) and ended up with a perfect evening for sitting around the fire and watching the moon as clouds drifted by. We lacked chocolate for s’mores but the marshmallows toasted just fine anyway. Red coals sparked our imagination, the mosquitoes stayed away, and the man in the moon watched over us until clouds snuck up and captured him. It was the perfect way to end such a momentous day.

 

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celebration!

  1. aleviton says:

    Well, I say take that last paragraph and make it into a children’s book. Take the whole thing and make it into a children’s book. Great take on adaption of plans!

Leave a Reply

