Haze

A month of summer has already meandered down the river of time, gone forever from our grasp. The sounds of summer are everywhere; voices of children playing in the street, music coming through open windows, mosquitoes buzzing in my ear as I pull weeds. I smell wood smoke from a fire pit a few doors down, reminding me my grandson will be here soon and we can roast marshmallows and hot dogs every night if we want.

My friend is recovering. She has such a wonderful attitude and beautiful spirit, despite the pain and the loss of her summer and her independence for a while. No wonder we have been friends for so many decades. I never want to lose the friendship of someone with that kind of resilience and positive personality. I need that good example!

My granddaughter and I got to pick blueberries from my bushes the other day. When we got all the ripe ones picked, I thought we could leave the netting off and let the birds have the rest. She thought about it for a little while – as she ate the ones we’d picked- and covered them back up. Sorry birds. Not this year.

A hot dry wind has been blowing. We have haze here from the fire in Utah. Ugh. Not pretty. Not good to breathe. It reminds me of the Black Forest fire and that is a memory I do not like to go back to. On to the positive! and back to writing! and and and…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

