Whose Teeth?

So I guess it is a squirrel eating on my drip line. It is a half inch brown line with holes every eight inches. Anyway, I turned the drip on to water a bit extra since we are in the 90’s this week, and noticed a wild spray shooting up in the air. Turned off the water, looked at it, noticed little teeth marks, and headed to the store for parts. While there, I asked myself if I shouldn’t pick up extras. Nah. Last night, I fixed it and turned the water back on, only to find another spot with similar teeth marks a few feet away. This one didn’t spray up in the air so I didn’t notice it when I saw the first one. My question is: do squirrels eat plastic/rubber pipe? I don’t have rabbits anymore. Raccoons go through here a lot, but their teeth marks would be much bigger.

Back to the store and this time I bought extra couplings and hose clamps. That’s all fixed. Next project was adding a drip line for the new clematis I just planted along the back fence. I dug down and found pipe, punched a hole and put in the dripper. I turned on the system and no water. Went through all the stations and nothing fed that line. So, I dug around in the gravel some more and found another line, the right one this time, punched another hole and the new plant has water. I pulled out the dripper from the wrong line and put in a plug – all the while wondering if I punched a hole in the neighbors line? At least no water came out like it did from the correct line. The incorrect one is a foot inside my fence, but still. Makes a person wonder. I just hope the plug holds.

So, most of the morning was blown. I took a half hour bike ride instead of a couple hours like I’d hoped. Oh well. Everything’s working – for the moment.

The picture is in Pike National Forest.IMG_2211

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in gardening, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

