Happy Flag Day

Encouraging reviews are coming in for the Young Adult novel. There are some ‘magical’ pieces being worked out, but for the most part, I am very close to being done. Some fun little trips are getting in the way of serious work, but since I won’t give them up, the work will just have to wait. Ah shucks.

Flag Day and aIMG_2170nother birthday is on the horizon. To celebrate, I am headed back into the mountains. Last week’s trip to Steamboat Springs was an absolute feast of beautiful scenery, water falls, and hot springs. Swimming in a cold mountain river was unbelievably ‘bracing!’ I’ve been in rivers before, but I’m usually wearing fishing waders. The best part of the trip was the good friends I shared all the adventures with.

Storms brewed up and hail fell, some of it quarter size, but I was lucky in the yard. A few leaves are scattered on the ground, but not much, and the flowers withstood the pounding well. For a moment, I thought “go hail” because I know I am in need of a new roof, but then I thought better of it.

The grandkids will descend soon. I can’t wait. I have no plans for them as of yet, other than hiking and biking, and maybe a movie when the heat gets bad. I’ll have to find some rocks so we can paint. I remember my childhood summers as unplanned days of laziness. That’s not at all what I see in my neighborhood. Kids going to swimming lessons in the morning and soccer or T-ball, etc. in the afternoons. Play dates and camps. Mom’s running crazy. If you need to have a glass of wine at the end of every summer day, you’re doing something wrong. If you want one because you like wine, that’s totally different. Maybe I’m preaching (again), but I just think I like spelling summer R E L A X.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

