Thank You

Another one of those home maintenance projects came up. This one was easy to do, replace the batteries in the wind sensor on my retractable awning. The lights went on when the new batteries were installed, just like the manual said, the motor jogged, just like the manual said, the test failed. I lifted it up and dropped it five time to mimic the wind, just like the manual said. Nothing. I did it again. Nothing. I took the unit off again and checked the lights, yep they came on, jogged the motor, yep, yep. Tested it again. Nothing.

Next step in the manual is to call the 1-800 number. I did that. The gracious lady had me repeat the above steps, exactly how I had just done it. I lifted the awning and Bingo! It worked perfectly. Now tell me. How do electronics know how to mess with you that way? The lady laughed, said it happens all the time, she doesn’t know why, but maybe it had time to re-set itself. Bugger!

My peeps are on vacation. I am house sitting, cat sitting for neighbors, working on the book and unwinding from a wild spring by staying home and enjoying the fruits of my labors in the house and the yard. I believe they call it a stay-cation. Whatever you call it, I think it is very beneficial to breathe deep occasionally and count blessings. Every where I look are pictures of my family, furniture from my grandparents, objects I’ve collected or gifts I’ve been given from all over the country, books, flowers in bloom, green grass, a growing garden, all blessings and not to be overlooked or minimized. They are my life and I am blessed. I also have the most wonderful friends and family, and you who read my books and blog. Thanks. I don’t think I say that often enough. From the bottom, the tippy tips, the outer edges, and the very middle of my heart, thank you.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

