Chuck & Duck

Sometimes my world seems flipped upside down. Even when I know the changes are coming. Even when they are expected. Even when it’s all good. I guess it is just the speed at which the changes fly past me. My brain does ‘chuck and duck.’ I get stressed and my brain says, ok, this or that has to go, and it simply ditches it out the back door. It doesn’t ask permission, it just chucks while I’m ducking the next thing flying at me. I’m sure it’s a survival mechanism, but some of what got chucked might have come in useful later. Oh well. It’s gone.

The kids have gone east to pack up their house for their move. The kid-zone is quiet. The breakables can now come back out because I have company (grown-ups) coming for the weekend and I stashed them all in the guest room.

We got in one four mile hike and one bike ride. Not too good. I don’t know where the time went. We thought we had time to do all sorts of hikes and exploring, but somehow it evaporated. I know there are years to do these things after they get settled. I certainly hope this isn’t a sign of how much faster life is going to slip by me now. Yikes. That’s scary – and stressful. CHUCK IT!

A lovely thunderstorm came through, leaving good moisture in its wake. My granddaughter and I went out on the patio and listened to the rain pattering down in lyrical waves. Nothing better. I looked at the forecast and saw snow at the end of the week. Now that is downright rude. I already lost my blueberry crop for the year. It won’t hurt the carrots but the squash and tomatoes won’t like snow at all. Come on, give us a little break. I have no desire to plant them twice.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

