April Oops

House hunting around this area sucks. I’m not even the one hunting, I’m just watching the hunters, and it sucks. Again I ask, why are people building these humongous houses? I don’t get it.

So here’s my latest house drama. The dead-bolt mechanism on my storm door failed – in the locked position. This is on the front door – the one people go in and out of all the time. All of a sudden, there is no way to use my door. We have completely taken apart the handle, face plate portion and still the dead bolt is firmly in place – not budging. That makes the door behind it useless. This has never happened to me before. Funny how life always finds a way to throw something new my way. A lock-smith is coming to see what he can do. I’ll keep you posted. Nothing like having to use the garage as your front door.

Okay. So do you know what a gun sounds like when it goes off in your house? I do. The locksmith came and had to insert little air bags in the door to get enough space to put a crow bar in to get the dead bolt backed off. When it let loose, it sounded like a gun going off. I thought the door cracked. I am still amazed it didn’t crack. I think the lock smith was surprised too. Anyway, the gears inside were striped, so I had to order a new handle mechanism. House things really don’t ever end.

House hunting continues, only now in the snow, because Mother Nature decided to pull one of her little Colorado oops-a-daisys to all the blossoms and plants that have come up. I will say, though, snow on purple salvia is quite pretty. I don’t go out and cover plants like I used to, so what survives is great and oops to those that don’t. There’s always next year.IMG_2022

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in gardening, Inspiration, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

