Care

Choices. Always choices. Which battle is worth fighting? What matters in the long run? All good questions I have been asking myself these past couple of days. Most of my delima centers around my mother’s care. Respect, happiness, quality, cleanliness, and her own desires twine together to make a maze that is difficult to navigate. It is quite amazing to be 97, still at home, and still winning card games.

My sister has stashes of rocks around the place and I noticed the perfect piece (size and color) of flagstone leaned up against the storage shed. It will finish off my patio-fire-pit project. She let me have it! Woot! Woot! People who know me well won’t be the least bit surprised that I am going home with more rock. I inherited that trait from my dad, and watching all of my grandchildren play with rocks, I have a good chance of passing it on!

Feedback is coming on the YA novel. Some things that I have missed astound me. An outside or different perspective is so helpful. Most of the changes are easy to make. During rewrites, I recognized the need for an added scene, just a small one, but adding it added good dimension. Hearty thanks go out to my beta readers.

Now for house hunting. Don’t worry, it’s not for me. It only took my 17 month old granddaughter about an hour to point out all the non-child-friendly items we needed to remove or place higher in my house. Oh how easy it is to forget what they like to get into. The best thing to watch was her joy in the kid zone downstairs. She loves her older cousin’s kitchen set that we moved and set up, as well as the trucks and riding tractor. She was extremely unhappy when she had to quit playing to eat dinner. The kids made a run to purchase baby gates for the stairs, so we are set, so far.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

