Spring Chores

Before:
Today is going to be ‘turn on the sprinkling system day.’ I’ve done it before, so it should be a snap, right? Well, one never knows. It seems crazy turning it on so early in the spring, however, it is just plain dry here. I tried to put a shovel in the ground yesterday, and it didn’t budge. The winds of late have not helped either, evaporating all that good moisture we got not too long ago. At any rate, I’m tired of dragging hoses around, so I guess it’s time. I got drip line added to where the new plantings go, so we’ll see how that works when the water is on. Fingers crossed.
After:
No floods in the basement or water shooting out of valve covers. I only put one dripper in backwards. I tried several ways to fix it including plugging the hole and putting in a new one, but that didn’t stop spray from going everywhere out of the old hole. So, I suppose that means cutting out the bad pipe and putting a coupling in. Grrrr. At least all of the stations are working, but I can tell I need a pro to come adjust a few heads. I’m not good at that. I’ve tried, but I do not have the knack with these new energy-efficient water-wise heads. Now all I have to do is hope mother nature doesn’t send a deep freeze our way.

My eyes started watering like crazy the last few days, so I suppose allergies are going to get me this spring after all. The only outdoor project left is digging the grass out of the third and final flower bed, and planting the plants. I’m debating over whether or not to fill my usual pots on the patio. Maybe the mood will hit, but it hasn’t yet. I know I’d miss the color if I didn’t, but it’s early.

Here’s a question that will stump you. How do we stop the ugly crisis in Syria? Yeah, I don’t know the answer either.dsc_0785

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

