Get-Away!

On St. Paddy’s Day, I attended a “green” party with a lovely group of people. The food was all Irish and divine, and the host even had peat bricks sent in for the fire pit. Now, in my opinion, that is going the extra mile. Last night I went to a private concert in the home of another friend, and spent the evening listening to the talented Ann Reed. Her song writing ability is amazing and her fingering on a twelve string guitar was outstanding. The performance was sprinkled with her quick wit and a dry sense of humor. Delightful. How blessed am I? Now I’m off to a National Park get-away, so no tweets, twerps, blogs or other musings from me for a while. Hopefully, I will have good pictures to share when I return. Depending on cell service, and I’m not counting on that at all, I may be able to upload some along the way.

The work on my fire-pit has progressed nicely. I have set the steps, acquired the needed breeze to fill in between the steps, and the stone to make a bench. I can see that I need to go back up into the mountains (oh shucks) and bring home another load of rocks to finish off the pit circle itself, but that and setting the bench is all that will be left when I return. My granddaughter and I tried it out the other day. We roasted hot dogs and s’mores. When we ran out of chocolate, we just roasted marshmallows. It was grand.

Daffodils are blooming like mad around here. I so love the color. Spring is far ahead of schedule and many of my April yard-chores have already been done. It must be time to unplug the heat tape on the roof! Here’s to hoping we don’t get a late freeze that kills trees. I know much of the fruit crop in the south has been injured or lost.

I’m off. See you on the flip side!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

