Another Goodbye

Crazy Colorado spring weather! After a fairly warm morning running a lot of errands, I settled down for the afternoon to write. Around 3:30 pm I looked up to giant, beautiful white snow flakes drifting down in a relatively perpendicular fashion. By 4, I decided to walk to the mailbox before it got any worse, getting out my heavy winter coat and scarf to bundle up in. By 4:30 the sun was out, blue sky was pushing the clouds out of the way and the white covering on the sidewalk was becoming a distant memory. Colorado.

On a sad note, the last of our horses died unexpectedly a few days ago. Granite was a beautiful mare, from a line out of Pines Triple, an outstanding quarter horse stallion. Dean was so proud of her. It is heartbreak for my daughter and granddaughter, who both love horses so much. I feel as if one more thread has torn from the fabric of our farm life and those memories. Hard to let go.

My young adult novel is undergoing major reconstruction! That’s the best way I can describe what is going on with it right now. I like it! It gets better and better. I took a class recently that gave me a strategy for linking the scenes of the book together, and at the same time, I finally found the perfect beginning. Progress. A nice benefit is that this strategy will work for all of my future books, including the mainstream novel I have in the hopper. The same goes for all of the marketing pieces of the puzzle, once done it’s done!

So here’s a shout out to fellow authors Chuck Barrett and Rachel Weaver, successful authors who have been of great help to me recently. You’ll find Rachael at http://www.rachelweaver.net and her book, “Point of Direction” is an Oprah Winfrey debut choice. Chuck writes great thrillers and you can find him on Face Book or @Chuck_Barrett on Twitter.

Happy Reading!img_1420

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

