Progress

Progress on my current project is slow, that is the house project, not the writing project. My YA novel is coming along great. You are going to be so pleased when you read this book. But! I am painting the inside trim and baseboards in the house. That means moving the furniture, cleaning the baseboards, filling in the nail holes and gouges with wood putty, painting, caulking, and then moving the furniture back. The worst part is being down on the floor. I have taken to using a blanket folded over several times. It scoots along the wood floor easily and saves my knees. Like I said, sloooowwwww.

I had a repair-maintenance man come to work on my gas fireplace. I had no idea how much a person ought to clean them. The glass inside and out was horrendous (don’t ever use Windex or like products). The miller moths inside that I could not see were disgusting, the old mouse droppings also disgusting. The unit now lights, holes that mice could get in have been plugged, the pilot has been adjusted so it won’t run so much gas when the fireplace is off, and even though I prefer a real fire (that’s why I built a fire pit) it is nice to turn on in the evenings for a special occasion.

One more thing checked off the list. That was the fun part. The not so fun part was how condescending the guy was – without a clue that’s how he came off. He explained everything three times, as if I was five years old and interested. He wants to be thorough and accurate. I get that. I just had to bite my tongue several times, and keep myself from running away. I did learn a lot, and the price for the work was not out of line, so all in all, I can’t complain – or I shouldn’t. And now it’s back to painting. Hmm. Maybe I should have him come back and explain it one more time.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

