Ready for Spring

It seems I wake up each day now, waiting for the US to implode. I am not the only one. I know our country will pick up the pieces and start again when it is over, but I so worry about my grandchildren going through this ugliness. One can only pray. We’ve had it too good for too long. We’re spoiled, and we’re selfish. ‘My way or the highway’ does not work when there are 7 billion other people sharing the same planet.

History repeats itself. It always has, and it always will. The problem is we do not learn the lessons. It’s all right there in the history books, but do we read them? No. Too easy to ignore and pretend it won’t happen here, not in our great nation.

So, I bring my thoughts back to my little piece of earth and concentrate on being kind to those around me. I know it is still winter, but this week of warmth and sunshine is wonderful. I rinsed off the layers of brown gunk, the residue from the slush, stuck to the car from going over Vail pass. That was miserable driving. I’m so glad not to be going anywhere for better than a week! Home – Sweet – Home. Being conscientious about what goes down the city’s drain system, I used only water and elbow grease. The car looks grateful and many pounds lighter.

I’m waiting on one more tax document to come so I can finish the tax process. Whoopie. I love it when that chore is over. Seeds that I ordered for this year’s garden have already come. That get’s me thinking. The snow is almost gone in the backyard, which exposes my projects left from last year to finish this spring. I’ve sorted and now have a pile of stuff for this year’s annual garage sale. Really – winter can leave anytime now. I’m ready. And, Happy Birthday to my oldest. Talk about a big day in my life!dsc_0785

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

