Willy-Nilly

Leaving two little boys and my daughter behind breaks my heart. My niece flew in to take over for me, so of course, we talk-talk-talked in the time we had together, to make up for the years we needed to catch up on. What a delight – and even more so – she is a great cook! Jackpot!

Yes – it snowed again. What can I say? I won’t mind leaving this inversion valley of little sunshine, but it would be so much easier to leave if I could pack up my kids and grandkids and take them with me. I always feel that way, no matter which family set I have to leave. It’s a familiar lament of grandparents, but that doesn’t make it any easier.

I have learned every hiding spot in the house through daily games of hide-n-seek. It isn’t hard to find the three year old. Each and every time I say, “ready or not, here I come,” he answers with, “Here I am.” He’s tickled pink when I “find” him, regardless of how little time it took. He also loves to be a helper. So far transferring clothes to the dryer and handing me clean dishes out of the dishwasher are his favorite chores. Oh, and feeding the dogs, except the part where he is only supposed to do it once a day. His schedule is a little willy-nilly. Whenever he notices their bowl, he heads over to get them a new scoop of dog food. They don’t seem to mind at all.

A ton of paperwork awaits me when I return, another bad part of getting to go home. The good part is sleeping in my own bed, cooking my way – which doesn’t work at all for young, growing boys, and best of all – seeing my friends and other family. What do you want to bet it snows on me right after I get home? Only fitting – but I sure hope not!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

