Good News/Bad News

Good News: The abortion rate is lower than before Roe V. Wade, one of the upsides of teaching children about birth control. Now, if we can just manage to not pull birth control out of the reach of the lower economic classes of our citizens, we might keep that downward trend going. You might not agree with some services offered at Planned Parenthood, but offering birth control and cancer screening are definitely two of the good and needed services they offer to people with little or no health care insurance or atrociously high deductibles.

Bad News: The wonderful snow pack engulfing California is a precursor to flooding come spring, especially in areas where drought has reduced the vegetation that prevents flooding. One can only hope that at least the dry reservoirs get refilled.

It is supposed to snow again today. I’ve already run the snowblower 4 times and I am so over this winter weather. I expect to get sick any minute now. I’ve been gone over two weeks already, so like the proverbial horse, I’m ready to head to the barn. My son-in-law left for a month long deployment. That’s not a long one at all for the military, however, my daughter couldn’t come home until after he left so the timing sucked. The boys are a little confused and the oldest shed some tears, but they seem to be hanging in there.

Yesterday was the March on Denver (and other cities). I am caring for my daughter and grandsons out of state, so I couldn’t be there, but I was there in spirit, for my daughters and daughter-in-law, for my granddaughters, for my niece and her daughter, for my mother who is too old to march and my sister who is disabled, and for all humanity who inherits this planet after I’m gone. When we wake up to Peace on Earth, it will be because we made it happen one heart at a time. March On!

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

