2017

2017 opening Snow! Snow, snow, snow. I am not thrilled about driving through the mountains in all this snow. I have packed my coveralls, boots, extra everything in hopes I am prepared for the worst. I’m praying for “not the worst” conditions on the passes and all good drivers around me.

Shoveling snow wears me out! Okay, maybe I need to think about summer, and how much I complain about the heat. Of course, I’m not actually complaining about the cold. I’m complaining about shoveling snow. I can already hear you saying, “go buy a snow-blower.” To that I will argue that the exercise is good for me, even if I do complain.

We rearranged the downstairs play area for the grandkids. No lack of things to keep them busy now, just a distinct lack of actual kids here at the moment. Hopefully, this summer it will all get put to good use.

I don’t know how it happens every year, but there is already a big pile of stuff for the annual yard sale. This year I am sorting out Christmas ornaments and adding them to that pile. I used to decorate five trees in the house in the Black Forest, so you can tell I have a lot I should let go of. It’s going to happen, and what doesn’t sell, goes in the dumpster. The End. I don’t want to leave my kids with the kind of mess I’m going to inherit from my mom and sister. I shudder to think about it.

How is your New Years Resolution working out? Anyone fall off the wagon yet? I didn’t make any, so I don’t have far to fall. If I were to make one, it would probably focus around finishing my current writing projects, the back yard, or making myself get up to the mountains to hike more. Those are all my passions, so they’re easy to work on.

The pic is a favorite from last year to help usimg_1592 think warm thoughts.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

