Heat Wave

There is a distinct possibility that I will break down and buy another snow-blower. My experience here is that it doesn’t snow often, but when it does, it dumps. Do they make little electric ones now-a-days? After switching to an electric (battery – no cord) lawn mower, I really think an electric snow-blower would be just the ticket. Then I don’t have to mess with a gas can, changing oil, etc. Time to do some research.

I had a wonderful time celebrating birthdays with my grandsons and their folks. Since I’m often with them for their December birthdays, we have a fun tradition of driving around at night to see the holiday lights. The littlest one fell asleep in the middle, but he enjoyed what he got to see.

I drove back home early because of the wintery, snowy weather coming in, which meant I was here in time to shovel. It doesn’t snow when I’m gone, but dumps 6 inches every time I return. What’s up with that? Next week workers are going to finish my living room floor, so the snow on the driveway really had to go, and I really needed not to be stuck in a motel room somewhere on I-80. All is well that ends well.

I’ve made contingency plans for staying home instead of driving for Christmas. The weather forecast shows snow falling in the mountains and I’m really just not down with that kind of driving after the long trip I just drove, and the one coming up next month. wimpy…I know. I’ll get to visit the same amount of time with my Mom and sister, just not at quite the same time as we originally planned. It saves me eight hours of driving, and I’m sure good with that.

Stay warm folks. It seems a bit topsy-turvy, but last night it was -8, this morning it’s -2. Odd to have a heat wave roll through in the night, but at any rate, either temp is too cold for comfort. img_1669

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

