Hot Chocolate

Scratch. Oh – dread those scary noises in the night. Scratch…Scratch. My grandson came out in tears an hour after bedtime. What is it? Turns out the new pet turtle was the culprit. Mystery solved.

The whole family spent the day Christmas shopping, came home, ate, watched a little tv, and then did the bath routine – at which time my grandson informed his mother he had no pants to wear to school the next day. Every mother’s favorite – laundry instead of going to bed.

Work on my novel has ground to a nearly complete halt. It’s not that I’m not motivated. It’s just that these two boys have far more energy than I do. I think they get theirs by draining mine. Just a theory, but how else do they wind up at the same time I’m winding down every night?

The weather isn’t cooperating for my return trip. I may leave on a different day than planned. That’s winter driving for you. I think I lost my ear muffs on the trip here, so will have to pick up a new pair. Other than those two glitches, I have to say I love being surrounded by snow covered mountains. Syracuse Utah is located in a pretty place.

The kids are planning to learn snow boarding. That was something I never tried. I skied as a kid, but farming and ranching took all our time, so we never kept it up. I wonder what happened to our skis and poles, etc.? Huh. I haven’t thought of those things in decades. Maybe they’re down in the office basement at the farm, nah, probably got thrown out years ago. Funny how old memories lead to other memories.

Nowadays, I like snow-shoeing. The best part is not paying for a lift ticket. Well, probably not the best part. The best part is enjoying spectacular scenery and fresh air. The third best part might be the hot-chocolate afterwards.img_1660

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

