Slow is Good

Has anyone else’s Facebook page changed just lately? Things on the left hand side are different. I don’t know whether I hit something inadvertently, or the FB people changed it up, but I miss being able to call up family posts, the whole bunch, not individually. Rats. Again.

I got to shovel snow, a whole bunch of it. That does it for this year. I’m ready for spring. I got out the catalog and ordered asparagus roots, an apple tree, a blueberry bush, and carrot seeds. I am making plans for what to plant in several locations, and how to build the kind of bench I want. I suppose I’m going to have to be a tiny bit patient, aren’t I? “Give me patience – and I want it right NOW!”

I do love visiting friends and seeing their lovely holiday decorations, and eating goodies of course.

I spent some time recently with a writing mentor and in half an hour, I was all un-stuck and fired up to write again. A new challenge, a new perspective, knowing eyes looking at my work, put it all together and I am ready to go at it again. It hasn’t been flowing lately and I couldn’t figure out why.

Winter driving is not my favorite and I am slated to do a lot of it this winter. Why? Good question. One I should have asked earlier, but who knew this arctic blast was coming so soon on the heels of record warmth. I haven’t had many opportunities this year to listen to holiday music, but I am getting it in the car now.

Brrrrr. You know, it looks pretty out there, but it’s downright cold. Be careful. There have been too many accidents and pile-ups already. This is one of those cases where slow is good.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

