Short Days!

A nasty wind howled through much of the night and is still at it. Dry leaves are swirling around the front porch and they sound like rattle snakes. Strep throat is running through the family, so in self-defense, I took a spa day. I have candles, epsom salts, baking soda, and $2.00 facial packets from the drug store. I turned on Christmas music, made hot tea, and had at it. I don’t know if it will ward off any disease, but it certainly made for a relaxing atmosphere that broke my writer’s block. I’m back at the novel now.

We are on the downhill stretch of the days getting shorter, the day-light hours that is. I’m so glad. In two weeks, we go the other way, each day a tad bit longer, a psychological boost. The festive holiday decorations are good for now, but more daylight is the only positive part of the coming months of cold. Thank goodness for the treadmill downstairs. When the wind is roaring like it is today, I do not go outside for exercise. It’s a good thing I don’t have a dog to walk.

Watching old movies keeps me on the treadmill. I just finished crying my way through the ending of “Lonesome Dove.” I definitely want to find a comedy for the next go-around. I don’t know how else a person would stay on a treadmill though. The best part of walking the neighborhood is the fact that once you get out there, you have to walk back, you can’t simply step off and hit the stop button just because you’re bored. Maybe I should go to the library and see if there are any good movies to check out.

Since I’ll be doing a lot of winter driving soon, I decided to throw my snowshoes in the car, along with the boots and poles, presents, blankets, candles and tow rope. It must be a sign of age – the fact that I don’t relish getting out in this stuff anymore – except for snowshoeing on a sunny day with friends who have a hot tub.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

