Society in General

The last two days didn’t go as expected and I suddenly realized – blog! Company is expected in fifteen minutes, so I am giving it the old college try for what time I have. I got my book to a point of needing advice and readers and editors, etc. so it is in someone else’s hands at the moment. I’m all yours! Haha. I did get out my Christmas cards, so that’s progress. And, I confess, I put up a tree. I couldn’t help myself.

The tree is downstairs, so I didn’t have to drag any boxes upstairs, and my granddaughter and I had a whole lot of fun doing it. We skipped putting lights on it, just dug through a couple of the boxes of themed ornaments. I let her choose what she wanted while I strung a wide plaid ribbon around it from top to bottom. It’s awesome. We also baked a double batch of our favorite family recipe of Crunch Drop cookies. That’s it for my holiday baking, so I made enough for my book club, my critique group, my mom, the neighbors, the kids, etc.

Door Bell.

I had a great visit with long time friends. Isn’t it amazing how you find yourself wanting to catch up on everyone you know mutually, what the kids are doing, what their kids are doing, where you went on vacation, etc. Living in a new place with all new friends, I don’t often get the chance to reach back into the past, so I took full advantage.

One thing I learned is that the school my kids went to is now the smallest school district in Colorado. I am not surprised. What does surprise me is that they have held on this long. Sheer tenacity. I’ve always said that the people who survived settling the high plains of eastern Colorado were tough, and wire-y. Of course, along with that, many of them are alcoholics, small-minded, and spiteful toward outsiders. Right alongside them are the loving, generous, hard-working salt of the earth types. I suppose that makes it a microcosm of society in general. Anyway, it was fun catching up.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Society in General

  1. Gudrun McCollum says:

    Yummy, crunch drop cookies! Majana’s favorite ones.

Leave a Reply

