To Decorate or Not

So now I know, not decorating the house for Christmas is downright depressing. I needed to find some things for the kids out of my storage room, so I broke into the boxes and got out a few favorites. I didn’t bring many upstairs, but I decided I could decorate my bedroom a bit, and do some downstairs where it won’t be affected by the dust when the flooring people come to take out tile and finish putting down hardwood. It looks much cheerier down there now. I’ll appreciate seeing the decorations when I use the treadmill in the cold weather – and we sure have that now! Winter decided to come after all.

Christmas music is playing everywhere, and it surely evokes a lot of memories. I find it rather incredible that so many songs have stuck around for so many decades. There are some good new tunes once in a while, but the ones that really bring on the warm fuzzy feelings have been around most of my life. New singers with the same melody and wonderful, familiar words. I love to hear them.

There are several writing deadlines looming, which is why I’m working on the blog rather than on those other projects. Makes no sense, I know, but it seems to be my process. Once I start clicking things off the list, I get motivated and the juices get flowing. Although, right now, with a cold wind blowing outside, hot chocolate sounds really good. Oh, and I could work on Christmas letters too, and I want to make cookies for book club, and… Oh yeah, deadlines, okay.

Here’s to taking time to enjoy the holiday season, not stressing about buying gifts people probably don’t need anyway. Try inviting them over instead. Serve hot chocolate with Christmas music in the background. You could play cards or a board game and talk, no devices, just talk. What a priceless gift you would give to each other – your time and attention. Works great with your kids too.img_1618

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

