Bliss

I have new hiking/climbing boots! They feel awesome, look awesome, cost awesome. Okay, so that last one is the reality check, and doesn’t feel quite as good as the first two.

I’ve started dead-heading things in the garden, and I had to rake up a couple scoops of leaves off the front driveway. That time of year! I also planted 20 daffodils (rabbits don’t eat them!) but there are 30 more bulbs in the sack. I’m working on it – one day at a time. The pumpkins are large and most are almost orange. They are all going to be decorations this year. I still have plenty of pumpkin in the freezer from last year.

I attended a heart moving, fun wedding, and got in a wonderful hike in the high country ablaze with fall colors all at the same time. What a great celebration for two awesome people that I love to go hiking and snowshoeing with. Congratulations Pam and Sherry! The ceremony was the most joyful, “you” ceremony I have ever attended.

My daughter’s new home was precariously close to a tornado ripping through the area recently. SCARY! There is always something.

Figuring out how to be yourself and not compromise the real you is a lifelong challenge, I must say. The lessons often come with pain but the rawness eventually gives way to the realization that the real you is the best you, and not to be ignored or compromised. I’m not trying to make excuses, but my generation was not taught that lesson. I’m so hopeful as I watch my grandchildren. Sometimes, humankind does make progress.

I wonder how many times humankind has had to completely start over. Imagine that happening for a moment, everything destroyed and starting from scratch. Imagine knowing there used to be technology to solve the problem in front of you, but there was no longer a power grid of any kind to support the tools you knew used to exist. Ignorance might just be bliss.

and so it goes…img_1299

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

