National Average

Surprise! Surprise! A hummingbird stopped at my purple butterfly bush for a quick snack before moving on. I was sitting out under the awning, listening to the lovely patter of soft rain, so no camera available. Maybe I should get my feeder back out for the fall migration.

My walk was breezy and cool, a subtle reminder of what is coming. It rained, which is nice and always needed, but now I’m waiting for everything to dry up so I can paint and caulk outside.

Well, I got the primer on and it rained again. Maybe tomorrow will be dryer and I can do the colors, although I was thinking a hike would be more fun.

On two sides of the continent, two sets of my kids are changing homes and it isn’t going without its share of bumps and obstacles. I wish I could help. They’re all grown up and very capable, but its impossible to stop being Mom, or wanting to help.

Paint is on. Next is the caulking. Bit by bit. As I look out on the patio and yard, I am so glad I went slow and rejected the initial big money bids to redo the back yard. Sometimes going slow pays off, not just in money, but in satisfaction of how things turn out. The yard isn’t perfect, and a long ways from being done, but I am loving it.

For some reason, I was thinking back on all of the houses I’ve lived in since moving out of my parent’s home to go to college. There’s been quite a few. Not counting my college dorm, I’ve already gone past the national average of just under twelve moves per person in their lifetime. No wonder I don’t want to move again. At least I feel like I left every place I owned better than I found it (and some of the rentals too). Wow, to think some people lived their entire lives in the same house. That is amazing.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in home, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

