Satisfied

The workmen did not show up for their appointment. I hate to say, ‘naturally’ – what did I expect, but a lack of customer service has gotten so common. I did get a reply call, after calling them, telling me the circumstances and promising tomorrow. That, of course, messed with my plans, but I could make it work. It is frustrating how often this happens. When they came, it rained them out, of course, so still waiting.

A big hawk sat on my fence eating his breakfast while I drank my morning coffee. Ironically, BB the bunny hopped past not twenty feet away. Opportunity! I screamed in my head. No such thought crossed the hawk’s mind. Maybe when he doesn’t already have breakfast in his mouth, he’ll be more effective in bunny patrol. I hope he sticks around.

My granddaughter finished a “Jackson Pollock” type painting for my basement. I chose the colors and she did the piece. I thoughtfully put a large t-shirt over her clothes, one I have painted in myself many times. What I didn’t realize is that she went outside to do this in her stockinged feet. She now has artsy socks of many colors. The painting is beautiful. I call it “Rhya’s Galaxy.” She starts school next week, so we went to a movie and out to dinner afterward as a celebration to end off a great summer.

The two sets of moving kids are in the midst of boxed chaos. I hope they survive. There is a reason it is considered one of the top five stresses in life.

I’m picking squash and tomatoes out of the garden. The pumpkins are normal size this year, and the first of the green peppers are close to ready. The flowers have been wonderful, and so I have to say gardening was a success this year. I end the season with my 5-year plan in its infant stages, but established in my mind, so feeling satisfied.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

