Slipping Away

Two nights of being up late. My days and nights are going to switch if I’m not careful. And what’s this deal of feeling my hip flexer every time I get up out of a chair? Arghh.

I think we might have to pass a National law that makes it illegal to talk about politics. Of course that would require Congress to actually do something, and they couldn’t possibly do that, so that won’t go anywhere either. But come on, does anyone ever remember an election where virtually everyone is voting against someone, rather than for someone, or not voting at all? Ugly. Just ugly.

The Brexit was shocking, but there is a lesson there. More people want a re-vote than voted for it, because all the sudden they realized voting was important. Hmmm. A lesson for us perhaps? We still haven’t gotten to the conventions. There is still time to choose someone who inspires us.

My backyard project has begun. I estimate it will be done by 2020. No kidding. I am doing it myself (with the help of friends who have made great suggestions), a little bit at a time. I am hiring the patio work done, and rock placement is included in delivery, so I’m only doing the tedious part – tearing out the sod – and the fun part – planting new plants. I’m skipping the expensive part – building a wall – and going with the English cottage garden on a slope idea. I must remember to take ‘before’ pictures, although technically I’ve already started, but only gotten a small area partially done so far. I won’t be able to get the ground cover I want till next spring.

Coming up is a camping trip. I am excited to try out my new tent and have some s’mores. The summer is slipping by so fast. Wait for me…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

