Birds and Bears

I can’t say that this will be the easiest June my family has gone through. One branch said goodbye to beloved friends and a beautiful home, drove across country with two small children, two large dogs, one cat, and a big trailer full of what they need to get by with until they find a new house to live in. The upside for me is getting to see a lot of them this summer before they head farther west.

Then I turn on the news and see what the refugees from Syria or Iraq are going through, and I get a little perspective. My kids have all their possessions, a home to go to, a job, and they aren’t being chased out by bombs or AK47s. They’ll be fine.

BB the baby bunny has branched out. Rather than sitting close by where I can watch him, and eating just grass, he has discovered the yard is big (for him) – and full of flowers! He loves them. Oh joy. I’m sure the vegetable garden will be next.

Bit by bit, I’m making progress with my novel, “Compass Point.” What a process, and I have to be grateful for the gift of perseverance. This novel has some of my dad’s stories in it, and I want them told well. There is a ways to go yet, but I’m getting there. If I didn’t have so many interruptions, such as tennis, friends, family, grandkids, kayaking, and gardening, I would get this done much faster. Oh shucks.

No hummingbirds have stopped at my house, but I drove to the mountains to visit friends, and I saw numerous hummingbirds, and a small cinnamon colored bear as a bonus. I guess that will have to do. With all the flowers I’ve planted, you’d think a hummer would come by, but they seem to be of a different opinion. Maybe next year.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

