Summer Begins

What a great start to summer! I went kayaking, so love that, played tennis, love that too, and got my refinishing project done. I also fixed a hole in the fence that allowed an unkind big bunny to come in and chase around my little guy. I didn’t know they did that! I chased him out – which was when I discovered the flaw in the fence, fixed it, and now my little guy has the run of the place again without being harassed. Except for the squirrel that chased him around in circles. I think the little one got too close to a hidden nut stash buried in the lawn. I didn’t know squirrels chased bunnies either, probably just the little ones. Of course, at the rate this little guy eats, he won’t be a baby long.

So, let’s have a bunny naming contest! Any good suggestions? I’ll let my granddaughter pick the winning name. For now, I’m going to call him BB. Surely you can come up with something snazzier than that!

Has anyone seen hummingbirds yet? I’m still waiting.

Here is one of many sayings of Andy Rooney, a correspondent for 60 Minutes who passed away several years ago. “I’ve learned – that being kind is more important than being right.” Oh, how I wish some of our potential politicians could understand a concept such as this. It seems to be beyond them. A time and a place, respect, understanding that someone can be wrong without you telling them they’re wrong. How simple. Speeches should inspire. If you waste your time knocking other people, you are a waste of my time.

We live in a complicated world, and yet, the simpler we keep it, the better it is for everyone. The Golden Rule – found in every single religion – ‘treat everyone the way you want to be treated,’ is the simplest, easiest concept of all. I wonder why it is so difficult to teach.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

