Corporate Policy

Thumbs up to Cabela’s Club Visa for handling Target’s problem, and thumbs down to Target for passing the buck when it was their machine that froze up and double charged me in the first place. “Corporate Policy” was the excuse.

Watching grass grow, or relaxing. I find it extremely hard to sit still through the process. I need to keep working on that. I am reminded of getting in trouble in school for doodling. Now researchers have come to realize doodling people are very creative and inventive, and that the process helps ideas flow. “Ha!” to the teacher that got mad at me for supposedly not paying attention!

The bed I slept in last night (not mine at home) is soft and I felt like I got folded up in an envelope. Not the best night’s sleep. I like a firm mattress. Funny how different everyone is about what works for them to get good rest.

My newest granddaughter has completely spoiled me, once again. She giggled and smiled her way into my heart without much effort at all. Funny how they do that. It’s a joy to watch her parents love on her, learn from her, and think they are in charge! Ha! again.

The spring weather is windy out here at the farm, which is typical for eastern Colorado. I find myself looking around, trying to figure out how I took care of all this, as well as working, raising three kids, and volunteering. Could be why I’m worn out. I got the nicest compliment the other day by someone I hadn’t seen in a decade, saying I looked eternally young. True or not, it sure made me feel good. I need to remember to pass on compliments more often. Such a little thing that makes such an impact.

I have gotten into the habit of telling clerks who check me out to have a nice day. They are supposed to say it to their customers, and usually seem surprised but appreciative to hear it said to them. You can tell by the smile that comes to their face.

So, have a nice day. You look eternally young by the way.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

