Baby In The House

I don’t have to get up early tomorrow morning, so I am staying up to write. It rained and snow is expected. This is April in Colorado after all, but the trees are all blooming, the tulips are gorgeous, and snow is simply not necessary. Flights are being cancelled and power is out at the farm. Not the visit my kids hoped for, that is for sure. Over the years, I can’t tell you how many trips over the mountains had worse weather in April than in January, but a lot for sure.

This past week was a little bit crazy, however, I got through it without screaming and all of my hair is intact (except what my grand baby pulled out). The remodel job is basically complete. I have to do some touch-up painting and I’m waiting for the second back splash attempt. The first one was awful. No other word will do. I absolutely loved what I picked out until it was up against the new tile. Awful! Now comes the fun part. I’m going to find some under cabinet glass racks and so a little decorating.

I got through four school programs, a birthday lunch with my granddaughter, and an average of three trips to her school every day since her dad was out of town and I had drop-off/pick-up duty as well. Now that there is time to hike and goof off, the weather is gloomy, cold and miserable. I suppose that means it’s a great time to scrub toilets and do laundry. Nah. That could never be described as a great time.

What is great is playing with a 5 month old baby, watching the gears turn as she discovers everything from the taste of her toes to the joy of pulling grandma’s hair. This girl is a giggler and that joyful sound fills the house and my heart. I am blessed.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby In The House

  1. Barb, you are a tremendous woman! Whom, I cherish and miss beyond words! My house fills so full and so empty at the same time right now. Holding on till the next part of the journey begins! Needing to fill motivated to do anything! Miss you lady, and love you Karen

Leave a Reply

