Land Legs

I’m back! Getting used to the boat was a snap, however, I walked like a drunken sailor this morning when I got out of bed. Horrible feeling. I don’t remember that happening last time I sailed.

I had a great vacation. Unplugging from all electronics took some getting used to. In fact, I think it was part of the reason I found it hard to relax in the first days away. Once I did though, voila. It was sad not to have chocolates and towel creatures on the bed last night, and I’m not sure who is doing the cooking from here on out. I thought I would have lots of time to read, but other than during the two plane rides and a some time before retiring each night, I got very little reading done.

The food was good and far too plentiful, so I won’t be getting on the scales for at least a week. I took the stairs each day, so much so, my calves hurt from day two till day five. The shins and hip flexers did a bit of aching too, but all is good now – except for that crazy land legs/sea legs sensation of having no equilibrium what so ever.

The poverty in the Yucatan Peninsula was very disturbing to me. I wanted to get off the bus and find a way to help. The small black water cisterns on top of the very tiny houses ( hovels really ) that we drove past on our way to the Mayan ruins bothered me a lot. I’m not sure what my response will be yet, what International Agency works in that area, but I will do some research.

Highlights of the trip were the Mexican Chocolate factory (oh baby), and kissing a dolphin on Grand Cayman. Best of all was the time with family. Worst of all is the pile of laundry I have to attack this morning. The price one pays.

 

 

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

