New Goals

Time. Stress. Time. Stress. Two words that are making me crazy right now. I don’t have enough time and I have too much stress.

Too much stress? How can that be? There is nothing stressful about my life, or so it would seem from the outside. On the inside, however, I have been allowing a few things to get the best of me. I got a wake up call the other day when my back went into spasms and I couldn’t tell if it was a heart attack or what, and so now I am looking deeply into what is agitating me. The process is not as easy as one might think.

I might have to give up watching presidential politics. Oh shucks. I had given up caffeine a long time ago, but for some reason I have been letting it slip back into my routine. That should be easy to let go. I am allowing myself an extra fifteen minutes each morning for meditating, and trying to make sure I get in some pleasure reading each day.

On top of everything else, I am going to quit worrying about the remodeling job downstairs. It is going to be wonderful, some day, and in the meantime, oh well. By the way, today we happened onto the right size piece of cherry wood in a lumber store, discounted because it was a special order gone wrong, and pre-finished so we don’t have all the labor of finishing it ourselves. Perfect.

I do not take my blessings for granted, but I do tend to forget to relax and enjoy them. What is a perfect yard for – if you never sit in it and enjoy the fruits of your labor? That is my new goal. Not only counting my blessings, but enjoying them. I don’t want to just swallow the food, I want to savor it. I don’t want to just listen to the music, I want to dwell in the melody. I don’t want to just get to know the new friends I’ve made, I want to cherish them, and even more so, let them know I cherish them.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Health, Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

