Priorities

A priority for me will not be one for you. That’s just the way it works. Fortunately, with so many people out there, there are plenty to pay attention to all of the issues that need our attention. Why is it then that we have such growing numbers of homeless, neglected seniors, and hungry children living in squalor? Where is the dis-connect? All I can figure is that someone out there isn’t pulling their weight.

I’m going to a parade. I haven’t been to one of those in a long, long time. I’m not sure why but I think the last one was a holiday parade of lights about ten years ago. Before that? Maybe a county fair?

The weather has been so warm, the buds are swelling and spring bulbs bursting. This is early but nature is in charge, not me. I used to be so obsessed with getting the outside projects done, and now I find myself looking out the window and saying, “eh.” Possibly that comes from the fact that the inside project is no-where near completed, and until it is, I no longer seem to have the capacity to be both places mentally.

Writing, on the other hand, is going well. I realized a huge faux in my opening prologue. It gave away much of the suspense of who survives. Yikes! I also ordered a new printer, one that is refilled by filling a tank of ink rather than replacing cartridges. It’s good for the environment, as well as good for the pocketbook in the long run.

AND, then there is Presidential politics. They have now progressed from stupid to ugly. Everyone is mortified, yet no one is surprised. No surprise either, that Trump is whining he is the victim of this violence, it suppresses his right to speak. He evidently never learned any lessons on consequences, cause and effect, the power of words, or bullying.

I grew up believing my right to throw a punch ends where your nose begins. I guess some people didn’t get that memo.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

