Implosion

My world is decidedly askew this week. I am exhausted every night, and it certainly isn’t from physical labor. I believe it is the angst over what is happening downstairs, and the lovely dust all over the house (there is absolutely no point in dusting until the job is done – but I did it anyway). If I had stopped with the original idea, I would be cleaning up and setting the pinp-pong table back up by now. But oh – no, I came up with idea #2, so we are just getting started.

Demolition day. Big black bags of debris now sit in the garage, waiting to be hauled away, when or how I don’t know. The next steps are more positive, which is good, but there are still a couple items that I don’t have a clue as to how to solve yet, such as a light fixture that is off center (yes- that too bothers me), what to do for the back splash, etc. etc. They will all come together or get ignored eventually. In the mean time – angst! Again – first world problems!

Oh wait a minute – maybe it’s politics that is giving me angst. Did anyone else feel like they were watching the Republican party implode the other night during the debate? I’m not kidding. I looked up how many political parties there have been and are in the US, and it is staggering. I had no idea – or at least I forgot how many existed, past and present.

I stopped counting the disbanded parties when I reached 50. Do any of these sound familiar? Some of them did to me. Some of them are hilarious. The Federalist Party rang a bell, as did the Whigs, the Liberty Party, and the People’s Party, all gone for almost two centuries. I don’t remember the Democratic Republican Party (how well would that work now?) the Nullifier Party (but I know some who would like to nullify the current candidates), or the Toleration Party (we could use some of that).

Of course, I’m in favor of my granddaughter’s party – The Muskrat Party – first and foremost, but I could come up with some other names. For instance, I didn’t see the Respectful Party on the disbanded list. That would be a nice one, or the Common Sense Party.

and so it sucks…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

