Up and Down the Stairs

I have worn myself out going up and down the stairs, organizing, sorting, and prepping for the remodel job. I decided all extra blankets, pillows, and bedding should be in one closet, not three. I decided all photography equipment should be in one place, not two. I want all crafting supplies in one place, etc. etc. You get the picture. As I passed the half way mark, it began to feel very satisfying.

I didn’t have to do this when I moved in. There is so much storage in this house, and only me, so I simply put things away to get done and unpacked. I haven’t been here for a full two years and I’m making the same three piles I made before moving: throw away, give away, and yard sale. How did that happen so fast?

Two out of three of my children are moving in the coming year. Evidently, the need to organize is contagious.

As part of my New Years Resolution (just to keep you updated on my getting out more), I joined two diverse groups and am extremely happy with that decision. One is a book club and one is a Meet Up social club for the over 50 set. Nice. I’m also doing well with my 10 flights, 10K steps each day. I tried 12, and while that can happen occasionally, it is almost impossible to do daily and still get in a decent amount of writing. So, I backed off to ten and find it more motivating when I hit my goal almost every day, rather than just once in a while.

I recently attended a program in which four different writers on a panel spoke about their trials and tribulations of writing, getting published, the process, etc. I sat there listening, thinking to myself, “Yep, been there, done that.” “Yep, had that problem.” “Yep, know what you mean.” “Yep, Yep.” Kind of like Old Home Week.

And so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

