Happy Valentine’s Day

Happy day every day! We should not just celebrate our soul-mates on this day, if you are lucky enough to have one, make it a habit to celebrate them everyday. If you are on a budget, say for instance you have kids of any age at home or in college, mutually pick a day to celebrate each other without the inflated prices associated with Valentine’s Day. We all get cabin fever in the spring. Pick a day, for instance, at the end of March to be your Valentine’s Day. You’ll get flowers for less than half the cost. And by the way, the vast majority of women really don’t want candy to ruin their diets, so skip over that one all together.

I’m about to start a minor remodel project in my downstairs. My son-in-law had a brilliant suggestion and I can not get it out of my head. The project just got a little bigger! There are details to work out though (why I can’t get it out of my head) and now I can hardly stand the anticipation of starting in on it. I’m tempted to go down there with a sledge hammer and get started. This is one of those times I need to practice patience.

My novel is now being read by my test readers. The task of taking out a character gutted nearly 20,000 words from the manuscript. I have added around 5,000, and I am sure upon re-reading it I will find areas to flesh out, however, I need to set it aside for a while. In the meantime, I am back to working on the story I was calling fantasy. However, I will no longer characterize it as fantasy. I am shifting it to the young adult genre and writing it for me and my grandkids. Sorry fantasy lovers – it just wasn’t my thing.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

