What You Get

The Super Bowl is over. Lady Gaga surprised me with a marvelous rendition of the national anthem. I thought it was a really good half-time show, and I saw a few ads that were gosh darn funny. Then there was Budweiser’s ad with Helen Mirren. My hat’s off! So, all in all, not a bad way to pass a Sunday. I was with good friends and family, we ate good food, and I did some good writing, all hallmarks of a good day.

Unlike the frigid, snowy weather of the previous week, this week it is so warm I got out a hose, hooked it up and washed my filthy, dirty car. What a difference! Then I drained the hose, rewound it and put it away. I know this lovely, warm weather is just a tease. There is more winter to come.

Driving down the street I live on is like going off-roading after a big rain. There is still deep unplowed snow and ice alongside the bare spots where it has been worn down to the pavement. We never got rid of all the ice from the last snow before this recent fourteen inch’er’ hit. My dear sweet snow-blower blew up on the second pass down the driveway. The block cracked, sparks flew, and it died an untimely, sad death. Due to the lovely winter so far, all the retailers around here are out of snow-blowers. I guess I get to continue exercising my shoveling muscles.

My relatives in Minnesota are sick of this winter. My mother on the western side of the Rocky Mountains is sick of this winter. My family back east is sick of this winter. What do you say? Shall we just chuck this one out and get on with spring? I’m ready, except that I do love snow-shoeing and I haven’t gone quite enough to feel satiated yet.

I suppose Mother Nature is going to handle the arrangements at any rate. “We get what we get,” is what my mother always says, and so we do, the good and the bad. Sooner or later it’s our turn.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

