Wisdom

The wisdom of a six year old! My granddaughter spent the night and we baked, watched a movie, giggled, and talked over many important topics. One of the discussions centered around how tall she is going to be when she grows up. I briefly hit on genetics, telling her how each person gets some of their “soup” from each parent, and we can’t predict what she will be. My dad is taller than me, but my mother is shorter. You just never know. We moved on to other topics and then later, while getting dressed, she spied an old pair of pink heels in my closet. She loves pink.

The next thing she noticed was a lift in one of my shoes. I explained how one of my legs is slightly longer than the other, and I wear the lift to even things up. She thought for just a second and then wisely told me, “You must get your long leg from your father and the short leg from your mother.”

It’s hard to argue with that logic.

I’ve often told her about my father’s “No-Grow,” and this time when I told her I better find that No-Grow and get it on her before she got any bigger, she looked at me and asked THE question. “It’s not really a true thing is it, Yamma?”

Oh no! She had that same look as when she asks if I believe in Santa and the Easter Bunny.

I looked at her, sad in my heart, and shook my head. No, it’s not really a true thing. My daddy wished he could keep me little, and used to playfully drag me toward the garage where he kept it ‘hidden.’

“That’s what I thought,” she said, “or else you would have sprinkled it on my mommy and my aunt and uncle E when they were little.”

True enough.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

