Suspense

Exciting football games this past weekend. I don’t actually watch, mind you, I get too nervous and I don’t like suspense, but I love being around others who are watching and I’ve discovered you can get the gist of the game just by listening to their yells. All the frustration and joy is immediately transmitted – loudly – and if it is a positive noise for the team I’m rooting for, I can look up and watch the replay. Works like a charm.

Suspense has never been my thing, which makes it a real challenge to include it artfully in the current novel I’m writing. I’m more concerned about putting enough humor in this book, but the suspense has to be authentic or it won’t fly. As a reader, you might think that my knowing the outcome should take the suspense out of it and make it easy to write – well my brain doesn’t work that way. I do love challenges though. Since I took one of the main characters out of my novel, and therefore had to re-write the suspenseful climax, I have been struggling with this scene for several days. I’ll let you know how it goes.

For the most part, I’m avoiding the gardening catalogs that are streaming in this time of year. So far, I’ve ordered an apple tree to replace the one that toppled in a big wind my first summer here, a second blueberry bush since the first one did so well, and asparagus plants. I LOVE asparagus. I have big plans for hard-scaping this year, both a fire pit and a new, big garden bed, so I won’t plan on planting a whole lot, probably just a few tomato plants and carrots, things the darling bunnies, squirrels, and raccoons won’t eat.

and so it starts…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in gardening, home, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

