The Alarm is Going Off

On the road again… I am headed home. It seems like it has been a month or two since I was there. The want to go home has changed since last year when the new house wasn’t so much mine. Selling the place in the Black Forest altered things too. The last twelve months certainly were full of changes that have made a difference in my perspective. However, leaving the family behind is just as hard.

While here in Florida, I have re-written a big chunk of the novel I’m working on. The female character that over-shadowed my main character has been written out, but that meant having to revamp the entire climax scenario. It was a big challenge but I’m liking the results. I’ll put it out to readers soon.

Two out of three of my kids are planning cross country moves soon, so I think I might be seeing quite a bit of territory from a car in the coming year. I have a cruise lined up, as well as thoughts of two national parks I would like to visit, but I will have to wait and see how that all pans out. For right now, the chicken in me wants to go home and roost.

I hear the alarm. That means the oldest grandson will be up soon, getting ready for kindergarten. It sure changes life when children start school. They get a whole new perspective of the world around them, and parents get tied down in a whole new way. The pendulum swings both ways, though, as always. The day will come when the kids leave school and go off to college or jobs and the parents are left without the ties that have grown to keep them secure. A good reason for having good hobbies or traveling!

and so I go….

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Traveling, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

