Footprint

The trip over the mountain was cloudy with underlying icy roads in spots, but the trip back was stunning, thank you sunshine! White velvet snow encrusted with diamonds blanketed Glenwood Canyon, the reflected light creating a scene of delightful wonder. The temperatures started at 8 degrees in Grand Junction, went as low at -3 and as high as 45 in Denver over the 5 hour trip.

The outside lights are now down and stored away for the winter. It took more time to untangle, organize and pack them away than it did to actually take them down. I have a plan for next year’s display too. Hopefully, I won’t be changing the scheme three times like I did this year – oops – last year – or this past season. I wonder how long before I write 2015 on a check? Of course, I hardly write checks anymore thanks to on-line bill paying. Reverting back to the old year used to happen around the middle of January.

I can already see one benefit from adding insulation and sealing the air gaps in the attic. It takes my furnace less than a third of the time to warm the house back up in the morning. The air pressure test showed 28% less air leakage. Awesome!

My mother told me what her heating bill was this past month. I had to swallow hard. My parent’s house was built in the 50s, before we truly had an understanding of R values, global warming, or our own footprint and responsibility to the planet. Utilities were much less of an issue back then. My dad did have some extra insulation put in the attic, but we now know sealing the air gaps is as big a factor as the insulation is. Then there is the fact that my mother has a window cracked in every room – all year round. It’s her house. She pays the bill. I kept my mouth shut.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in home, Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

