The Aftermath

The house is quiet again. I don’t like it of course, but on we go. The boxes have been torn down. The recycling bin is full. Sheets are washed and the dinosaurs have been returned to their tub. I got to play some ping-pong, drink some egg-nog, and throw snow balls with the grandkids. What more could a grandma want? Well, maybe world peace but that would take putting a grandma in charge of every country. It’s coming but we aren’t there yet.

My thinking has moved on to New Year’s resolutions. Normally, I don’t make them, but I’m toying with the idea this year, something along the lines of breaking my hermit habit and getting out in the community more. This is a tough one and it’s going to require a strategy. On the whole, writers tend to be hermits and I am no exception. I’ve always been most comfortable working behind the scenes. That kind of change is going to take serious thought and frankly – I’d rather be writing, so right off the bat I’ve run into my first major hurdle. That’s probably why I don’t make resolutions.

One never expects to spend Christmas Eve in the hospital, but it happens, and it just happened to my neighbor. Nurses in the cardiac ward told us they often get very busy around Christmas, perhaps because family comes to visit and realize that “grandma” isn’t looking so good. A triple by-pass means no more shoveling snow this winter. I may have to fire up my snow-blower after all. I’ve been doing mine by hand for the exercise, but two big driveways might change my mind.

I hope for everyone of you to have a healthy, wonderful 2016. I hope the weather is beneficial and kind. Of course, that won’t be the case for everyone, so my hope is also that we don’t lose sight of the importance of taking care of each other.

and so it goes…

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in fear, home, Inspiration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

