Blessings Young & Old

Happy Holidays! The snow and cold weather came and seem to be staying for a while. Shoveling, sledding, sipping hot chocolate, all the things that make the season bright – are here tonight. My grandkids on the floor in front of the tree – laughing together in their matching pajamas – what a heart warming sight. Such a dear blessing!

The days are getting longer! I love it when we reach this point in the season. It is so hopeful.

Have you noticed how things often run in three’s? First the dead battery, at night, in freezing temperatures. Second, I picked up my glasses off my desk and noticed right away that all I was holding was one ear piece. They broke in half. It wasn’t merely a case of the screw falling out. The metal broke in half. Then I noticed one of the outside light fixtures wasn’t working, so I replaced the bulb but still no light. I have no idea what is wrong there, but I sincerely hope that means I’m done with this batch of negative happenings. I should be able to start off 2016 on a positive note, I say with fingers crossed.

The Veteran whose stories I have been writing and recording has passed away. He lived a good, long life, only two months short of ninety years. It is hard to say goodbye to someone I got attached to in such an intimate way – by listening to him talk about his life, what he was proud of, what he wished he could do more of, and those he so loved. In a short space of time, I knew him well enough to know what his answer would be, when I asked him how his former students would describe him using just one word. Resolute. He was indeed. He served his country. He gave back to his community in loving deeds, and he will be deeply missed. Thank you Bill, for allowing me to be a small part of your final days, a true gift this season.

About Barbara K Tyner

A graduate of UCCS with a degree in English Lit., Barbara writes Children's Literature and fiction. Her popular children's series, The Badger Books, is co-authored with Barbara's daughter, Laura. Her first novel, "Wait Here, Wait There" deals with grief and Alzheimer's, two topics that are very difficult to manage in real life. Barbara volunteers doing school programs and speaking to support groups. National Parks, hiking, and snow-shoeing are in her list of favorite hobbies.
This entry was posted in Grief, Inspiration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

